Krzywaczka is a tiny holiday resort, situated in the Lesser Poland Voivodeship. It is well located being only 20 km from Krakow and due to this fact it is very popular with Krakovians (residents of Krakow). It is a perfect place for those looking for rest and relaxation in a tranquil spot away the city’s hustle and bustle.
Krzywaczka is a picturesque village in the Lesser Poland Voivodeship, surrounded by beautiful greenery. It is a great starting point to such tourist and business centres of Lesser Poland as: Krakow (19 km), Wadowice (25 km), Kalwaria Zebrzydowska (10 km) and Wieliczka (25 km). Krakow airport is just 30 km away from Krzywaczka.
Krzywaczka, however, is not only a starting point to the neighbouring cities and towns. The village itself has a lot to offer. It may boast of many monuments, the most interesting of which is undoubtedly The Holy Trinity church from the early 20th century. It was built by the initiative of priest Jozef Nowak in between 1911 and 1924 and it replaced the old wooden church. It is made from red bricks, has lesenes, one nave and a closed presbytery built on Latin cross plan. Other worthy of interest places are: classicist manor from the 19th century, listed inn complex as well as the cemetery with a chapel from 1887.
Krzywaczka is a village in the Lesser Poland Voivodeship, in Myslenice County, Sulkowice Commune. It is situated by the country road no. 52, in between Głogoczowka and Harbutowka streams.
First records about Krzywaczka are from 1229; it was then called Dambrowa. The next names of the village were: Kriva Dubrawa or Krzywadambrowa and from the half of the 14th century – Crziwaczka, i.e. Krzywaczka.
There were many owners of Krzywaczka. The roughest trial about Krzywaczka took place in 1723. Then the Chapter became the owner of the village and ordered Canon Sebastian Komecki, the warden of Krakow Chapter, to manage Chapter-owned villages. He, however, paid the Aleksander Drozdowski’s (the former owner of the village) heirs off and without any notice to the Chapel, he became a sole owner of Krzywaczka. This way Komecki deprived the Order of Friars Minor of a lot of money.
In 1815 Krzywaczka was bought by the Zelenski family (Ciolek coat of arms). Count Kryspin Zelenski rebuilt the whole folwark, established a landscape park and erected the manor (which has been standing in Krzywaczka by now), farm houses and a brewery.
In 1859 Krzywaczka was bought by Henryk Schmidt, the owner of the brewery from Krakow. This fact was commemorated by the erection of a cross, which has been standing in the village by now. In the half of the 19th century there was a one-class school in Krzywaczka; also four inns were operating: Wygoda (English: Convenience), Wesola (English: Happy), U Lojzka (English: In Lojzek’s) and Pod Kogutkiem (English: Under the Rooster). The history of the lattest dates back to 1530. Despite various problems, the inn survived and is still operating. In 2003 it was renovated.