Mielec is the home to many outstanding Polish artists, scientists, politicians and sportsmen. Aside from being the birthplace of famous Poles, this beautiful town in the Subcarpathian Voivodeship is also a significant cultural and economic centre. Recently, a lot of restaurants, pubs and hotels have been built here, which allowed for the development of tourism in Mielec.
Mielec is a town that may boast of a rich history and what follows that – of numerous monuments. The most interesting are: Minor basilica of Matthew the Evangelist from 1526, the Oborskis’ manor-house from the 17th century, the Jadernys’ house now serving as a museum, the Suchorzewskis’ classicistic manor house and a house of Jan Lojczyk’s family, called Lojczykowka.
As far as the culture is concerned, the most important institution is the Culture Centre, which consists of the Culture House, the Regional Museum and the Public Library. The Culture House was built in 1953 and immediately became the most important centre in Mielec. In the Culture House we find the Galaktyka cinema, the Exhibition & Promotion Centre as well as the seat of Rzeszowiacy sing-and-dance group.
Mielec is a town in the Subcarpathian Voivodeship, situated in the Wisloka Valley, in Sandomierz Basin. It is populated by approximately 61 thousand people.
In Mielec there is a Special Economic Zone EURO-PARK MIELEC, in which a lot of private firms are located. Currently Mielec Industrial Park is being created.
The town is also a great transport hub. There are number of voivodeship roads crossed here. Well-developed is also bus and train transport.
Mielec was established in the beginning of the 13th century. In the second half of the 14th century a local parish already existed and in 1470 Mielec obtained its city charter.
The Mielecki family were owners of Mielec from the moment of its establishment until 1771. Their reigns led to an intense development of craft. In 1522 the oldest guild came into existence and it was the smiths guild. Later tailors, cobblers, potters and weavers grids occurred. After the reigns of the Mielecki family, the town came into possession of the Osslolinskis and the Morsztyns. The last owners of Milec were the Oborskis.
From 1853 the town was the seat of the county. In 1890s the Town Council and military gendarmerie barracks were built here. Mielec’s development was interrupted by a great fire. Fortunately, after the disaster, the town was lent money which helped in rebuilding it.
In the beginning of the 20th century many buildings occurred in Mielec. They were the court, the junior-high building and the County Council seat among others. In the interwar period, on the other hand, streets were paved and a private power station, shops and handicrafts enterprises were built. In 1934 Mielec was flooded and two years later a large aviation factory (Panstwowe Zaklady Lotnicze) was set up. The building of the factory caused the development of real estates. Some blocks of flats for the factory’s workers and houses for its managers were built. After the WW2, the town came into the reigns of Hitler, and after its liberation in 1944 PZL-Mielec company came into existence. The works were the main employer for Mielec inhabitants. The situation changed in 1995, when the first Special Economic Zone in Poland, SEZ EURO-PARK MIELEC was founded in Mielec in 1995.